Poof! It’s a pouf!

Hey everybody!  I just had to share the cutest thing that came together on the sewing machine yesterday.  I’m sure you have all seen poufs… The cute little seats that are all the craze right now.  Well, after probably fifteen years away from a sewing machine; I sat down yesterday and put together this adorable pouf, that I just had to share with you!

pouf pic

This colorful pouf cheers a corner of our great room where two different woods converge, along with the wood floor. Love this pop of color!

Since I hadn’t sewn in ages; doing a tutorial on this was out of the question.  It actually was much “figuring it out as I went along,” as I didn’t have a pattern, just an idea in my head.  This idea actually formed back in the spring, when I saw a really colorful striped hammock at a yard sale.  I loved the color combination and the patterns and thought, “Hey, that would look cute hanging on our party porch!” (Um, no) “What a cute pouf this fabric would make!”  (Yep, that’s how my mind works.)  You see hammock; I see pouf!  😀

pouf pic

A close-up of the fabric. The loops were cut from each end of the hammock, with about 4″ of fabric attached to them, then sewed onto the pouf to make a fringe.

The hammock was brand new, so hadn’t been out in the elements to fade or get dirty.  It was really like getting a great new piece of fabric that could become anything (you know, like a pouf).  To make the pouf, I basically just measured out the actual size of the material to determine what size pieces I could cut; which determined the actual size of my pouf (It’s about 2’x2’x2′). I cut off the macrame strings, which hold a hammock to a tree, stand, etc; though I left the loops which were woven into the fabric to use a a giant fringe.  After cutting the hammock into six large pieces and four, 4″ pieces with the fringe attached, I sewed the “fringe” onto the side pieces; sewed the sides together; and added the top and then bottom pieces, leaving about a 10″ opening in the bottom to add the fill which I purchased at KMart.  It is actually sold in their homegoods section, by the bean bag covers.  It is a huge bag – or so I thought – my pouf took almost two bags full!  But at around $13/bag, it wasn’t too expensive.

pouf pic

Bag of bean filler purchased at KMart. Here I’ve attached my juice bottle funnel. So high-tech!

You do have to be careful with the filler.  Once you open the plastic bag it comes in, if you squeeze it at all it “poofs” out of the bag and goes flying (not that I would know firsthand, or anything.)  😉  I actually cut off the top and bottom of a large plastic juice jar and put one end down inside of the filler bag, taping it securely to the bag; then I put the other end into the opening I left to funnel the “beans” into my pouf.  I stuffed it pretty full, though left some room for it to adjust when you sit on it so it wouldn’t be tight like sitting on an exercise ball or something.  Filling the pouf was really a two-person job.  My daughter held the bag of beans while I held the “funnel” into the opening in the fabric, securely holding the fabric around the juice bottle.

pouf pic

Tape the “funnel” to the bag very securely to avoid “beans” going everywhere.

Here is another look at the finished product.

pouf pic

Don’t you just want to plop down on this comfy pouf and have a chat? It’s just so cute!

My husband just loves it and thought it made the perfect foot stool (with something to cover it, of course), as he propped his tired puppies up after a very long day at work.  He also thought it sits well, as do I and my daughter; which tells me I did put in the right amount of filler – just enough to be comfy and supportive.

I had planned to take it to the shop to sell, once I got it made; but now I’m not so sure.  Guess I’ll have to think about it for a day or two. It adds a happy spot of color in the spot where I sat it in our great room; and I love happy colors in a room.

pouf pic

I love how the colors pick up on the picture turquoise picture frame and the orange vintage book in a nearby display.

I hope this has inspired you to see things, not always as they are (a hammock), but as they can be (a pouf)!  This is really the essence of what Recycled Life Interiors is all about… Taking something that was meant for another purpose, or that has seen its better days, and transforming it into something new and wonderful.  I can’t think of anything more fun than repurposing an item into something totally new.  Have you done something similar?  If so, I would love to hear about it.  Please share your story with us in the comment section below.

Be inspired.  Be inspiring.

Tori

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Poof! It’s a pouf!

  1. I just downloaded a template to make a pouf, I love them and I love yours, great job.

    • Thank you so much! A template sounds delightful. Mine was completely off the cuff and took a while to figure out; but I love the result too. Let me know how yours goes!

  2. Jean ellis

    Tori, I am so proud of my creative friend! Love all of your ideas! Elizabeth also likes her clutch and suggests that if made a little larger, it would be a great I-pad holder. You all need to think about that! Love you…jean

  3. Kathy

    What a great job you have done!! I love this pouf & the bright colors!! Blessings!

Leave a Reply

